New Zealand Tourism Award Winners Announced

Wildlife sanctuary Zealandia Te Māra a Tāne has been crowned the top tourism operation in the country for 2023 at the New Zealand Tourism Awards.

The New Zealand Tourism Awards, hosted by Tourism Industry Aotearoa, recognise businesses, organisations, and individuals who are demonstrating business success, living the values of the New Zealand Tourism Sustainability Commitment, and embracing kaitiakitanga (guardianship).

Judges said the wildlife sanctuary was a local icon and a “worthy exemplar” for others to follow, consistently demonstrating the qualities that the tourism industry held dear.

Receiving their award, Zealandia’s Chief Executive Dr. Danielle Shanahan said the award really was “one for the birds”.

Tourism Industry Aotearoa Chief Executive Rebecca Ingram said she was delighted with the judges’ choice.

“Zealandia is everything we love about tourism: protecting our wildlife, telling our unique story, thrilling visitors, and beloved by its community.”

As well as the Supreme Award, Zealandia took home the Airbnb Tourism Excellence Award (Small-Medium Business).

New Zealand Tourism Awards 2023

Air New Zealand Supreme Tourism Award

Zealandia Te Māra a Tāne

Airbnb Tourism Excellence Award (Small-Medium Business) 2023

Zealandia Te Māra a Tāna

BDO Tourism Excellence Award (Large Business) 2023

Skyline Queenstown

KiwiRail Tourism Environment Award 2023

Christchurch Airport

NZME Visitor Experience Award 2023

Altitude Tours

Toroa ā-uta, Toroa ā-tai Māori Tourism Award 2023

Tauhara North Tourism - Te Pā Tū

Tourism Industry New Zealand Trust Community Engagement Award 2023

EcoZip Adventures

Tourism New Zealand Industry Collaboration and Alignment Award 2023

Kohutapu Lodge & Tribal Tours Ltd

Tourism Talent Employer of Choice Award 2023

GO Rentals

Westpac Resilience and Innovation Award 2023

Tauhara North Tourism - Te Pā Tū

Eudora+ Emerging Tourism Leader Award 2023

Heidi Farren, Altitude Tours

Marsh Tourism Industry Champion Award 2023

Margaret Davidson, Mitchell Corp

Sir Jack Newman Outstanding Industry Leader Award 2023

Malcolm Johns