Uber is expanding its operations in New Zealand to seven new cities, in a bid to improve transport choice for Kiwis.

Rotorua, Taupo, Napier, Hastings, New Plymouth, Palmerston North, and Nelson will all see the ridesharing app become available in October, doubling Uber's New Zealand city-count.

Currently, Uber is available in Auckland, Wellington, Queenstown, Christchurch, Hamilton, Tauranga, and Dunedin.

Uber is available in 700 cities worldwide. The app currently has 6,500 partner drivers in New Zealand, the majority of whom are supplementing their income with part-time work on the platform.

Earlier this year, Uber launched its JUMP e-scooters in Wellington, ahead of their debut in Australia.